Christian County, Kentucky
WELCOME TO CHRISTIAN COUNTY
Vehicle Registration
Effective Monday March 1, 2021
The Christian County Clerk's Office will be opening back up to the public.  Our office will still be following social distancing guidelines and only a limited amount of customers will be allowed in the building at one time.  Once inside the building there are marks on the floor to allow 6ft distancing.   There will be only 
one entrance and that is the door located at the FRONT of the Courthouse facing Main Street.
PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT FACE MASKS WILL BE REQUIRED WHEN ENTERING THE BUILDING AND A DEPUTY WILL BE AT THE DOOR TO CHECK TEMPS.  This is for the safety of the public and our employees.
We do anticipate long lines so please know that you can still mail in renewals or drop them off in the drop off boxes located at the front and back doors.  The renewals that are mailed in or dropped off will be mailed back to you unless stated other wise.  Please include a phone number with the mail in and drop offs in case there are questions.
Also, if your tags are NOT expired yet you can go to drive.ky.gov and renew them online.

Thank you for your cooperation and patience.

Registering for the first time

  • Photo ID
  • Current original (not a copy) of proof of Kentucky insurance* (issue date within 45 days**)
  • Money for fees and applicable taxes (check with your County Clerk's office for accepted forms of payment)
  • The current title (for first time title and registration applicants only)
  • The current registration receipt (if the vehicle was previously registered out of state)

Renewals

Within Kentucky, motor vehicles (most often) are registered /renewed in the owner's birth month. Truck, motorcycle, and boat licenses are also issued. The vehicle registration certificate, proof of insurance, and payment are required for renewal. Payment may be made by cash, check or money order. As a reminder, it is required (by Kentucky statute) that your vehicle registration (or photocopy thereof) AND proof of insurance be carried in your motor vehicle at all times. For more information about apportioned license plates, please visit: 
drive.ky.gov/motor-carriers/Pages/International-Registration-Plan.aspx.

Internet Renewals

If your vehicle is currently insured with a company that has elected to provide information to the Commonwealth of Kentucky, then you might be eligible to renew your registration over the internet. The companies currently participating in the program are:
(1)    KY FARM BUREAU
(2)    HARTFORD
(3)    PRUDENTIAL
(4)    USAA
(5)    GEICO
(6)    FARMERS INSURANCE
(7)    CINCINNATI CASUALTY 
(8)    CINCINNATI INDEMNITY
(9)    CINCINNATI INSURANCE
(10)  AMERICAN MODERN HOME INSURANCE
(11)  AMERICAN FAMILY HOME INSURANCE COMPANY

The Kentucky Vehicle  Information web site is http://drive.ky.gov.  In addition to registration renewal you can check personalized plate availability, review license plate designs and download frequently used forms.

Mail-In Services

Vehicle registrations may be renewed by mail. Your tax notice is mailed (by the Kentucky Revenue Cabinet) several weeks prior to the renewal period and provides instructions for the renewal process. Payment may be submitted in check or money order form. A $2.00 fee is added to cover postage and handling. Simply send the vehicle registration certificate, proof of insurance and payment to: 511 South Main Street Hopkinsville, KY 42240.

Interstate Transfers

When a vehicle is sold or is coming into the Commonwealth of Kentucky, services are provided to enable 1) Transfer of ownership involving vehicles sold within Kentucky, 2) Title and registration for out-of-state vehicles coming into Kentucky, and 3) Title and registration for the change of ownership on new motor vehicles. Proof of usage (sales) tax and proof of insurance is required at the time of registration. If the motor vehicle title is being held by a lien holder, the County Clerk's office must submit a request to that party for the title. Additional time for processing is required when this is necessary.

Dealer Services

Motor vehicle transactions conducted with licensed dealers may be processed in person.

Disabled Parking Permits

Persons whose mobility, flexibility, coordination, respiration, or perceptiveness is significantly reduced by a permanent or temporary disability may obtain a permit which will allow them to use special disabled parking spaces. Applications for permits are available at the County Clerk's office. A doctor's statement and signature are required.

Boat Registration & Transfers

Kentucky law requires all boats having motors to be registered if operated on public waters. Motor boat registrations and transfers are handled by the County Clerk's office. Registration certificate and tax payment are required for renewal. Boat renewals or property tax payments can be processed through the mail or at the County Clerk's office. Transfers require the previous owner's certificate of registration and/or title along with a properly executed (by both buyer and seller) Boat Transfer Record form (obtainable at the County Clerk's office).